[Comic Review] Teen Titans Vol. 1: A Kid’s Game by Geoff Johns

Illustrators: Mike McKone, Tom Grummett, Marlo Alquiza, Nelson DeCastro

Collects Teen Titans Vol. 3 #1-7

Date Published: April 1, 2004

Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Superhero, Young Adult/Teen

Goodreads Link: Teen Titans: A Kid’s Game


Summary

There’s a new generation of heroes and they are ready! Ready to prove themselves, ready to take on the enemies that threaten those around them. No one, not even their mentors, can stop them from doing their job for the world. Starfire and Cyborg know this so they decide to band together some of the most promising proteges and start another generation of the Teen Titans! Things just don’t go as smoothly as anticipated…

Cassie (aka Wonder Girl) is receiving backlash from her mother and her mentor ( Wonder Woman) when she joins the Titans. They don’t want her to be harmed like Donna Troy (the original Wonder Girl). Will she be allowed to continue doing what she loves? Connor Kent (aka Superboy) is struggling to find his place in his new home and his new adoptive parents, Mr. and Mrs. Kent. Smallville, Kansas is probably the most boring place on Earth for a kid who can fly and has super strength. How did Superman survive it?

Bart Allen (aka Impulse) is tired of being a disappointment to the Flash lineage and is most eager to prove himself to his mentor, Flash. By joining the Titans, he’s going to prove that he is every bit as good of a hero as his predecessors. Robin, on the other hand, just wants to be unique. He doesn’t want to live in the shadow of Batman and will do anything to break from it. Between balancing his personal life and his undercover life, Tim Drake (Robin) has his hands full. Especially now that he and Superboy discovered something groundbreaking. Something that could change many things. Something they can’t tell a soul.

Will this new team survive its initial beginnings? What will they discover about the difficulties of being superheroes and will they be able to handle it?


Opinion

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This was definitely a fun read! I love the Teen Titans series and this was not a disappointment. I feel like I got to know these characters so well in this first volume and I’m excited to see what other adventures they go through together. The bonds they each have with one another are so interesting to see and so I’m also wanting to see more of those developments as well. Watching each character overcome their struggles was so entertaining to me in this volume and I feel like I can relate to a couple of these characters (minus the superpowers part).

I especially loved seeing Impulse’s character development. I have a feeling that in the future, his motivation for joining the Titans might cause problems so that will be very interesting to watch play out. He just seems like such a sweetheart and his motivation is so common among many people, especially people his age. I really enjoyed the way Geoff Johns translated those common feelings to the superhero world. There were so many times that I just loved Bart and I hope he finds the right motivation for being part of the Titans. Now, we also see Wally West as the Flash in this comic (I’m going to be reading more Flash comics because I love that storyline) and it’s surreal for me to see because I know Wally West from the Young Justice show and he is anything BUT responsible. Definitely weird to see!

Now there was one huge twist with Superboy in this comic that I have a feeling was supposed to be surprising but, like I said before, I’ve seen Young Justice and so I was just sitting there thinking, “wait… this is a surprise.” I’m interested to see how the characters in this particular part of the DC Universe handle it and what problems it causes in the future.

Pretty much, most of this series was setting stuff up for the future and I am all here for it! I loved the story and it did a good job of not feeling drawn out, despite all the build-up. Definitely, a recommended read from me!


Age Rating

12+

Most of the inappropriate things have to do with violence and some revealing superhero costumes.

Language: The only words said a couple times are:

  • Damn
  • Ass
  • Hell

Sexual Content: There is one kissing scene between two characters but it doesn’t last too long. There are also a few references, especially from Beast Boy, about how hot he thinks Starfire is. These jokes and comments aren’t too in-depth but still present. Some female characters (especially Starfire) have very revealing costumes and so that should be noted.

Violence: There are many fighting scenes. One character gets his kneecap shot off and we get an overhead view of the operating room as doctors are trying to fix it. It’s not too bloody and gory but still violent. Cyborg also gets part of his head shot off, but it’s the robot side so no blood is visible. Like I said, not too graphic, but the injuries and violence of these things are still very present.


If you’ve read this book, tell me what you thought in the comments!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started