[Comic Review] Wonder Woman: Land of the Dead by Greg Rucka

Collects: Wonder Woman #214-217 and The Flash #219

Illustrators: Rags Morales, Drew Johnson, Howard Porter, J.G. Jones

Note: For the Flash issue in this TPB, Geoff Johns was the author.

Date Published: February 1, 2006

Genre: Superhero, Graphic Novel, Fantasy

Goodreads Link: Wonder Woman: Land of the Dead


Summary

After the traumatic events of Diana’s (Wonder Woman) battle with Medousa, she has been left blinded and seemingly vulnerable to her enemies. Little do they know, she’s still one of the most formidable members of the Justice League. She can and will do everything in her power to make up for the mistakes she’s made and the messes she’s caused, even if that means sacrificing her own desires.

Cheeta returns to attempt to defeat Wonder Woman after hearing news of her great weaknesses. With the help of Barry Allen, aka the Flash, Wonder Woman faces off against Cheetah and Reverse Flash. Will the team be able to defeat this powerful duo?

On top of all this, Diana must go and complete a daunting quest under the orders of Athena. Olympus is in danger and only the Champion of Themyscira can save it!


Opinion

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

There was SO much that happened in this TPB! It was incredibly emotional and action-packed and I was so excited to see how it ended. I also found myself getting attached to a few of the side stories that were part of this collection as well so that’s always a bonus. One thing I’m really interested to see more of is the story with Cassie (Wonder Girl) and her journey with not only Wonder Woman but the Teen Titans as well (I own a lot of that series so I will DEFINITELY be reading it!)

I love Wonder Woman’s character. I know I said that in the review for the last book, but I genuinely mean it! She is just so inspirational and the writers do a beautiful job of giving her difficult decisions that do a phenomenal job of showing what type of person she is.

The story in this particular collection just gripped me. I was turning the pages so fast that I was worried I’d rip them! The second half especially had my interest and the events that took place were so exciting that I just had to know what happened. I will forever admire the author for so elegantly making the story great while still giving readers a great insight into the characters and their individual stories!

This has the feeling of a more filler collection of her series, so don’t expect there to be too much groundbreaking storyline, but honestly, it’s such a fun read and I thoroughly enjoyed it!


Age Rating

12+

Language: There are words said a couple times throughout but language isn’t frequent. Here’s what’s said:

  • Damn
  • Hell

Sexual Content: Some characters wear revealing clothing. There’s also flirting between multiple characters. Nothing explicit is ever shown.

Violence: This is an action-packed collection so there is violence and gore. Be ready for multiple fighting scenes where characters get beaten and their injuries are evident. Blood is shown in this comic as well.


If you’ve read this book, tell me what you thought in the comments!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started